People who opt for having a memorialized account for their Facebook account mostly set a Legacy contact to manage the content on their memorialized account. Memorialized account is the one where all your friends and family members can post and share your memories. They can put different messages for you. Having a memorialized account will send a Remembering notification to all your friend list members that will make them miss you. The Notification can be sent after a decided interval of time it will say “Remembering followed by the name of your account.”
The friends who are allowed could only be able to share and post memories on your timeline as the memorialized account follows all the privacy settings. All the older post on your account will remain the same as you posted them earlier. After the person has passed away his or her account would no longer appear on the list of “People you may know” so no new people would be shown your profile for adding you as a friend. No birthday reminders will be sent to your buddies. Only the legacy contact has the right to access the memorialized account reset no one else can gain access to that account. Still, in case you have any more doubts, then feel free to get Facebook Tech Support any time you want.
If you don’t set a Legacy Contact, then there will be no one to access and manage the content on your Facebook account. The person with Legacy Contact can share any last message on behalf of you. It can be the message you wanted to convey to all after you are no longer in this world. The Legacy can add your family members and friends who were earlier not having a Facebook account. Legacy contact can change your cover picture and your profile photos. You have the option to allow the Legacy contact for particular changes like downloading the copy of your shared content, add friends or not, post on your time line or not, etc.
The Legacy contact can not Login to your old account he or she has the rights to access only your memorialized account. Legacy contact can not delete or alter your earlier posts on Facebook. Your messages or chat details are not shown to Legacy contact so he/she can not even read your older messages. Legacy contact has no rights to remove any of your friends from the present friend’s list of your Facebook account.
Here are few steps to help you in adding a Legacy contact for your memorialized Facebook account:
- Log in to your Facebook account.
- Click on the icon for the menu which is present on the upper right corner of the home page of your account.
- Select the option for “settings.”
- Choose the option to “Manage Account.”
- Type the name or select the name you want to set as one of the Legacy contacts and click on the option to “Add.” It will add that name as your Legacy contact.
- After you click on “Add.” You can click on “Send” to let that person know that who have selected him/her as your Legacy contact. The option for send is optional it’s your wish either to click on it or not as per required.
You can even remove the Legacy contact if you want. Make sure you are 18 years old or above then only you could be able to set a Legacy Contact.